What is Toyota Safety Sense™?

As you shop for a new Toyota for your Chicago-area errands, you've probably noticed that many  Toyota vehicles come with the Toyota Safety Sense™ (TSS) system. What is Toyota Safety Sense™? This innovative system has a suite of driver-assist safety features that help you keep an eye out for potential hazards as you drive. The Toyota Safety Sense™ system is highly praised in Lincolnwood for its variety of features and intelligent responses while on the road.

Learn more about the intuitive features offered on the Toyota Safety Sense™ system below, then contact our team to arrange a time for a test drive so you can experience these features in person!

Toyota Safety Sense™ Features

The Toyota Safety Sense™ system comes with a variety of features that are designed to keep you and your loved ones safe while you drive though Evanston on your daily commute or weekend errands. These systems include:

  • Automatic High Beams: This system has a camera in your windshield that helps with nighttime driving. The camera is designed to detect the headlights and taillights of other vehicles and brighten or dim accordingly.
  • Pre-Collision System with Pedestrian Detection (also available with Bicyclist Detection): Also known as "Toyota Safety Sense P™ (TSS-P), this system uses an integrated camera and radar system to reduce the likelihood of colliding with a vehicle, pedestrian, or another object. The vehicle will give audible and visual alerts to the driver. If no action is taken then the system will step in to prevent a collision.
  • Dynamic Radar Cruise Control (also available with Full-Speed Range Dynamic Radar Cruise Control): This system uses a radar located behind the Toyota badge and the camera on the windshield to adjust your speed to keep a safe distance between you and the car in front of you.
  • Lane Departure Alert (also available with Steering Assist and Road Edge Detection): This system helps you avoid the consequences of unintended lane departure by alerting you when it senses your vehicle veering from the lane. If no action is taken by the driver, the system will step in to prevent a collision.
  • Lane Tracing Assist: This system works with the Full-Speed Range Dynamic Radar Cruise Control (DRCC) and the lane markers on Lincolnwood roads. When enabled and lines are visible on the roads, this system will keep your Toyota centered in its lane.
  • Road Sign Assist: This system works with the forward-facing intelligent camera to display speed limit, stop, do not enter, and yield signs on the MID.
Toyota Models with Toyota Safety Sense™ Standard

There are many Toyota models that come with Toyota Safety Sense™ standard on their trim levels, and each year more models are having this system installed and offered standard on their configurations. Here are the current Toyota models that have Toyota Safety Sense™ standard:
  • Toyota Avalon 

  • Toyota Avalon Hybrid

  • Toyota C-HR

  • Toyota Camry

  • Toyota Camry Hybrid 

  • Toyota Corolla Sedan & Hatchback 

  • Toyota Corolla Hybrid 

  • Toyota Highlander 

  • Toyota Highlander Hybrid

  • Toyota Land Cruiser

  • Toyota Prius 

  • Toyota Prius Prime

  • Toyota RAV4 

  • Toyota RAV4 Hybrid

  • Toyota Sequoia

  • Toyota Sienna

  • Toyota Tacoma

  • Toyota Tundra

  • Toyota 4Runner 

  • Toyota Yaris

  • Toyota Mirai

Experience Toyota Safety Sense™ At Chicago Northside Toyota

Lincolnwood roads can be unpredictable, but the advanced features offered in the Toyota Safety Sense™ system will help keep you and your family safe from distracted drivers and road hazards. Explore our online inventory of Toyota models to find the perfect Toyota with Toyota Safety Sense™ for your Chicago commute, then contact our finance team to begin the car buying process. We look forward to helping you find the perfect Toyota for your family!